The Wannabe Craftster

The Highs and Lows of a Fashionista and Craftster Wannabe

Serendipity

I’ve been going through my kids’ old clothes and culling out what I could stand to part with.   As time goes by, it is becoming clear to me that I won’t be having any more, which means I’m having to give up on my dream of having a daughter.  Obviously, I can’t keep all the children’s toys and clothes and shoes.  BUT, there are some things I absolutely cannot part with.  This is one of them.

Try to ignore the hideous background.  This is a little suit my mother bought for my older son when he was a baby.   Since we live in Austin and it’s always hot, winter clothes are handed down in almost perfect condition.  It’s my favorite color–red!  The elephants make the whole outfit for me.  I’ve always loved them and looking around my house, I notice I tend to favor decor items that feature them.

Soooo, while I’m still not tossing this little suit out,  I was thinking that some new project with darling elephants might be in order.  First I was thinking another suit.  Right?  Again, since it’s always hot here, do I really want to bother making another one?    (I’m saying track suit, but what would you call this ensemble?  A lounge suit? Jogging suit? Play suit?  Ew, maybe not.)  On one hand my ds is 4 and is still not such a big guy that he can’t wear really cute clothes.  On the other hand, my ds is 4 and is such a guy that all clothes must be able to withstand his habit of using his shirt as a napkin.  Interesting.  Pajamas, maybe?

Or, I could make a tote bag for him, which he needs anyway, for MDO and the library.

OR, I could make something for ME.  Maybe a cute bag?

Sissie says I can always use coloring books to search for possible applique subjects.  Bingo!  Internet turned up NOTHING I wanted!

And, then I found this…..

http://www.dollsofindia.com/product/HF90/

Now, really.  Is there any better way to transition?

August 18, 2008 - Posted by | inspiration | , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I have to say a few things ..

    Don’t give up on having a girl. If I could get pregnant so easily, I wouldn’t waste any time. It’s not over until menopause. My advice? Get pregnant.

    Love the cute red outfit. My boys wear a lot of red and blue too.

    I love the Indian elephants. It will be your inspiration for???

    Comment by Sonia | August 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. I guess I was thinking of transitioning from Mommy to something else. The boys seem to be getting so big and don’t need me so much anymore. sigh

    That really is my favorite of the little kid clothes my children wore.

    As for having a girl, sometimes I think it could happen. Other times…..

    Comment by odumnobles | August 18, 2008 | Reply

  3. the elephants are so cute! {and so is your son!}. i am voting for a bag, either for him or for yourself.

    Comment by Veronica TM | August 18, 2008 | Reply

  4. Aww, thank you!! He definitely needs a good book bag for the library. Who knows? If it turns out well, I may do both!

    Comment by odumnobles | August 18, 2008 | Reply

  5. I love the elephant suit–I honestly think that little boys’ clothes are as cute as girls’ clothes, just in a different way…And I want to encourage you, too–you’ll *never* regret having another baby, even if it’s not a girl ;).

    Comment by Melissa | August 18, 2008 | Reply

  6. Melissa is right. 🙂

    Comment by Sonia | August 20, 2008 | Reply

  7. Melissa IS right! I so want one. Thank you BOTH so much for the encouragement!!

    Comment by odumnobles | August 22, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

