The Wannabe Craftster

The Highs and Lows of a Fashionista and Craftster Wannabe

Pits

I love watching things grow.  Trash-to-Treasure, kitchen garbage to plants…..well, I just couldn’t resist.  DH makes a fabulous cold avocado soup with fat free yogurt, so it’s Weight Watchers Core friendly.  Very filling and wonderful on hot days.  He saves the pits for me so that I can do this….

I peel the dried outer layer and then….

After watching these for several days, I realized something was wrong.  Can you guess what it is?  That’s right.  They’re upside down!  So, I restuck them and am praying this pays off.  I’ve done it successfully before, and I recall the pits taking forever to sprout a little root.

In the meantime…..

Once planted, these grow into plants in as little as a day.  No kidding, you can practically watch them grow.    Guess that’s why Jack grew a beanstalk instead of an avocado plant.

August 16, 2008 - Posted by | gardening | , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I knew there was a lover of science in there somewhere. 🙂

    Comment by Sonia | August 16, 2008 | Reply

  2. I remember drawing and labeling the different parts of a flower in 4th grade. Loved that. I had a pretty, transparent notebook cover, so you could see my drawing from the outside.

    And, I did enjoy 10th grade biology. Nothing after, though. Kind of got lost. 😦

    Comment by odumnobles | August 16, 2008 | Reply

  3. That’s a lot of pits! I have two that I’m trying to sprout right now…hope they are right side up. I never saw anything about removing anything from the seed- guess we’ll compare the outcomes of our science projects!

    Comment by Angela | September 10, 2008 | Reply

  4. Two are rooted and one is already a plant. I just remove the outer casing, and I don’t think it’s necessary. It just makes it easier to poke the toothpicks through the softer flesh.

    That sounded sadistic, didn’t it?

    Comment by odumnobles | September 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

