The Wannabe Craftster

The Highs and Lows of a Fashionista and Craftster Wannabe

Marking Fabric

For beginning sewers like me, marking requires a bit of thought and lots of advice.    Actually, I could really use an expert in my dining room with me guiding me.  NOT going to happen, BUT after reading and rereading every section in every sewing book that I own and trying and failing a FEW times to mark and recognize my own marks UNsuccessfully, I was quite pleased this morning to find THIS post at Another Creation.    And with a twist!!!  I’ll be trying this after I visit the Crayola aisle.

http://anothercreation.blogspot.com/

June 27, 2008 - Posted by | patterns, sew | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I have never tried washable markers before – sounds interesting! I usually use ordinary blackboard chalk – I bought a small box of white chalk about 20 years ago and I’m still on my first piece of it (or maybe it’s the second piece by now). A few years ago, I decided I wanted pale pink and pale blue, for when I am marking white or off-white fabric and so I bought a bucket of sidewalk chalk for kids that was on sale because it had a little box of pastel blackboard chalk on top as a bonus. I gave the bucket to the neighbourhood kids and use the pastel chalk for marking. But when in doubt, I use thread and make tailor’s tacks because the thread usually stays in and so you can see the marks later when you need them, unlike chalk that rubs off.

    Comment by Julia | July 6, 2008 | Reply

  2. I don’t know why I never thought of chalkboard chalk? I certainly have plenty of it! I have a lot to think about now—and a lot to work with.

    Comment by odumnobles | July 6, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

