The Wannabe Craftster

The Highs and Lows of a Fashionista and Craftster Wannabe

Fixing Sissie’s Lunch

This doesn’t look exactly like the lunchbox Sissie used to carry when she was a teenager, but it’s the best picture I could find on the net. You’d better believe I wanted one just like it. Or better yet, I wanted Sissie’s. Everything she did was cool, I thought. She went to camp with a funky little suitcase, which I coveted, of course. She had a funky seventies pillowcase, which I wanted. And she got to go to school and carry her lunch in this darling little case in my favorite color—red!

This is the story of how my imagination compromised Sissie’s dignity.

One morning, as Sissie was preparing to go to school, I was inspired to remove her lunch from the case and pack it F-U-L-L of…what else? My underwear!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I was pretending to take a trip, and it was made all the more real, because I was in reality riding along in our VW “Bug” in the backseat as my daddy drove Sissie to school.

I watched (having forgotten about my morning play as easily as children tend to do) as Sissie stepped out of the car, began walking toward the school which was, of course, SWIMMING with teenagers when…..oh what happened? That lunchbox popped open like a jack-in-the-box and out flew panties EVERYWHERE!

All I remember after that was teenagers laughing and pointing as Sissie frantically gathered my underwear off the road and stuffed it back in the lunchbox.

I’m amazed she still speaks to me, but I think she blocked this out of her memory. She probably comforts herself by believing I dreamed this. Or, as she often says, after raising children, she can’t BE embarrassed anymore.

If you like the lunchbox, head on over to Ebay. It’s a classic, anyway. Just don’t stuff it full of underwear.

http://stores.ebay.com/F-C-Inc

June 13, 2008 - Posted by | inspiration, sister, Uncategorized, vintage | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. That is hilarious! Guess what kind of lunch box this dork had? Metric system…

    Comment by Sonia | June 15, 2008 | Reply

  2. You did not.

    Comment by odumnobles | June 15, 2008 | Reply

  3. Yes indeed. I remember the plaid (that’s what I called it) lunch box. I also remember Barbie lunch boxes. Those were nice. I was the ONLY child with a math style lunch box.

    Comment by Sonia | June 16, 2008 | Reply

  4. I had a lunch box like that!

    Comment by Romi | June 18, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

