The Wannabe Craftster

The Highs and Lows of a Fashionista and Craftster Wannabe

Sale at Hancocks

This is something I could see myself wearing through a good bit of weight loss. (BTW, that Weight Watchers Core program is working, and DH finds it pretty easy to adjust to. We feel a lot better, too.)

This is probably my favorite of the bunch for this score. In my case, sympathy for the general public should steer me away from the sleeveless options. BUT, we’ve already got record temperatures here in Austin, and 3/4 sleeves is just too hot for me. I am comforted by the fact that I won’t join those with VERY questionable tastes who expose less than perfect midriffs, at the very least. Sorry, but it had to be said. I hope that wasn’t mean.

Another sleeveless top pattern. There is something about this that reminds me of a bathing suit, but I’m hoping to hide some ugliness under the generous fabric. My prayer is that nobody asks me if I’m pregnant. If someone does, I’m planning on rewarding them with heaving sobs. Again, I hate to show my big ole arms, but hopefully, that bit of ugliness won’t be lasting much longer.

Sleeveless, but you could definitely make a case for WARDROBE STAPLE with this one.

I’m not even sure why I bought this last one. It’s cute enough. Maybe, I thought defining the waistline (props to Clinton and Stacy) would help me appear slimmer. I’m not sure. When patterns are 99 cents, you just go for it.

So, right now, I’m working on a dress with inverted pleats. Once I get that done, for better or worse, the challenge will be pockets on the same dress and then……a zipper. I’ve never put one in…..ANYTHING! Wish me luck.

June 7, 2008 - Posted by | Austin, patterns, sew, Uncategorized | , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Butterick 5216… made this last week… could be a great shirt, but it comes down so low in the front! just something to note before you make it; it is a “tanktop underneath” type of shirt! Which, at least in hot weather might be a little counterproductive.

    a suggestion for the zipper… get the $2 plastic invisible zipper foot. it is such a lifesaver, and jeans style trousers are essentially the only exception to being able to use invisible zippers. The silly foot turns the fear of zipper into pretty much a straight stitch with a new foot. I found mine at Hancocks, so it shouldn’t be too tricky to find. Such a life saver!

    have a great day, thanks!

    Comment by Hilary | June 8, 2008 | Reply

  2. I’ll keep my eye out for that invisible zipper foot. Thanks for the tip! You know, I was wondering about that low neckline, too. I certainly don’t want to be any hotter than I have to be this summer. Austin is already sizzling.

    Comment by odumnobles | June 8, 2008 | Reply

  3. Those are cute. Do you really make all this stuff? Gosh it would take me forever! I love the halter style tops. So is David doing WW too?

    Comment by Sonia | June 9, 2008 | Reply

  4. Truthfully, I have been known to stash quite a few patterns, especially after we lost contact with our wonderful Frances, but I’m actually working on a dress as I write. When THAT is done, I’ll either begin work on another sewing project or finish crocheting that purse.

    Yes! David is doing Core WW and is biking with the kids every afternoon. I’ll have to take a picture of this weird contraption he’s attached to the back of his bike for JA. You’ll love it.

    Comment by odumnobles | June 9, 2008 | Reply

  5. Must. see.

    Comment by Sonia | June 9, 2008 | Reply

  6. WW Core, thanks for reminding me. I need to get back on some sort of program. When I followed core, it worked for me. It’s the staying on track that gets me!

    I’m such a pattern junkie. Next time I see a Butterick sale, I need to get some of those.

    Comment by beki | June 12, 2008 | Reply

  7. I totally understand what it is to have a sister who can make or do anything! My sister is so talented it bites… LOL She is trying to teach me to do a few things. She just purchased Butterick patterns 5216 and 5217. She just made me some cool tops out of seersucker to wear in my garden. It is hot here in Mississippi also. I LOVE garage sales, thirft stores, making crafts… etc. I do some sewing. I took four years of it in high school along with cooking. Home Economics… they don’t have it anymore in many schools. What a shame. My first dress that I made in school had a small diamond shaped cut out of the front where I whacked it accidently. I am going to bookmark your page and read some of the blogs you have listed. Hope you don’t mind. Good luck with your dress and then the zipper… 🙂 Bittyfrog

    Comment by Bittyfrog | June 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

