The Wannabe Craftster

The Highs and Lows of a Fashionista and Craftster Wannabe

Bethany Lutheran Church Garage Sale

I’m so very, very glad the weather wasn’t bad for the Bethany Lutheran Church Garage Sale. I’m not sure how long they’ve had this planned, but I believe it was entered into my Palm Pilot last month. Hopefully, they raised a great deal of money. What a nice bunch of folks. And, boy did we have fun!

Sign at Bethany Lutheran Church

I took my 9yo son with me, because….well, I just like to, and secondly, he’s a better bargain hunter than I am. I explained to him that there were advantages to showing up late (sellers don’t want to pack up a lot of stuff and are willing to let it go, IF it will go, at a really, really good price) and advantages of showing up early (the best stuff often goes first). Feast your eyes on the find of the day. Yes, he actually found a scooter for sale! He was on cloud nine and later declared it to be the best day of his life.

Garage Sale Gold

I didn’t do too shabby, either. I was really pleased with my lovely juice glasses and mugs. And, I got them from the nicest lady named Debbie who loves to paint. She had many items for sale that would have fit PERFECTLY into the theme for my younger son’s room—retro cowboys. Oh, how I was tempted! But, I suspect that there will be a theme change soon, especially if we move. Younger son has turned out to be more of an wombat than a cowboy. Debbie also told me about a site online that might help me develop my technique (read—“overcome disability”) for painting terra cotta pots. In particular, we talked about painting specifically for herbs. As much as I love and use herbs, I STILL often forget what is what once those seeds start sprouting. More of THAT in another post.

Juice Glasses

Mugs

Here is some of Debbie’s handiwork. I would have loved to have brought this home, but we really have no room left, and my older son is too big for it. Sooooo cute, though.

Table and Chairs

Other lovely finds for someone. Can you believe it? A Schwinn bicycle built for two!!!!!!!

Shwinn bicycle built for two

Chair

And who can resist donuts and these pretty faces? Hmmmmm?

Donuts

April 28, 2008 - Posted by | "garage sale", Austin, glassware, thrifting, Uncategorized, vintage | , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. What fun. I LOVE the table and chairs. I need something like that for the boys’ playroom.

    Comment by Sonia | May 2, 2008 | Reply

  2. She had lots of other items that tempted me, too, but the table and chairs were especially cute.

    Comment by odumnobles | May 8, 2008 | Reply

  3. What happened to the kitty cat art?

    Comment by Sonia | May 12, 2008 | Reply

  4. Don’t guess I saw any kitty-cat art this time around. Meow.

    Comment by odumnobles | May 13, 2008 | Reply

  5. Maybe it was another post, but you had what looked like metal cat art. Do you remember?

    Comment by Sonia | May 15, 2008 | Reply

  6. Oh, yes. That was from a different garage sale. Quite unique, it was! That will, hopefully, be put outside into a lovely garden at some point.

    Comment by odumnobles | May 15, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

