The Wannabe Craftster

The Highs and Lows of a Fashionista and Craftster Wannabe

I Give Up

It just beat me down.  I’d never done pleats before and struggled with THAT.  I really needed to mark symbols and tried it but they disappeared!  (Maybe too much time between sewing sessions?)  I’d never put in a zipper before and attempted it and thought I did a B to C grade job until I tried to apply interfacing and realized I’d put the zipper in way TOO high and it wouldn’t accommodate the facings.

Sometimes, things just have to be shelved.  I have learned that just because a pattern is labeled EASY doesn’t mean that it’s for beginners.  And that’s what I am—a beginner.  And really, when you’re homeschooling, housecleaning, etc, etc, being a beginner may last a little longer than what you’d like.  Okay.  Lesson learned.

SO…………I am working on a new blanket for my mom.  (Pictures later.)  AND……I’ve decided to try something simpler and smaller.

Top right will be made up (WILL be made up) in pale green $1 a yard Walmart fabric.  Certainly, I shouldn’t be too disappointed no matter what the outcome.  WISH ME LUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

September 16, 2008 - Posted by | patterns, sew | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Okay – lets see photos of that dress and see if it’s salvagable. Pleats are easy! Are they even? Measure the top of the pleat on the tissue and again at the bottom of the pleat (that will tell you if it’s even or angled).

    Try basting the darts in the new green top. It will be wonderful. g

    Comment by gaylen | September 16, 2008 | Reply

  2. Sometimes, it’s good to take a break from projects, especially if it’s frustrating you. You can always come back to it in a few days with new eyes and fix the problems you might have been having. BTW, zippers, no matter your skill level, can always give you issues…. it’s all dependent on your fabric and how cooperative it is!

    Comment by stacysews | September 16, 2008 | Reply

  3. Gaylen, thank you so much for the encouragement. I have the dress on standby and will tackle it at some point. I think I did take pictures of those pleats, and I’ll post them when I start up again.

    Stacy, yes! I’m absolutely taking a breather and getting more organized and forcing myself to slow down and test things out instead of plowing ahead (my weakness). I won’t be AS scared to tackle zippers again, but I’ll definitely know to be looking ahead as far as things like facings and such go.

    Wish me luck!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Comment by odumnobles | September 18, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

